David Gebhard Award

Submissions on Minnesota Architectural History Sought for Gebhard Award

The Minnesota Chapter of the Society of Architectural Historians (MNSAH) invites the submission of articles and books on the history of Minnesota’s built environment for the thirteenth David Stanley Gebhard Award, which honors the Minnesota born SAH president and nationally renowned writer, whose subjects included this state’s architectural history. MNSAH
sponsors this award in order to help bring new works of architectural history to the widest possible audience.

Eligible books and articles must have been published between July 1, 2019 and June 30, 2021. Publication may be in print or on-line. Although submitted books and articles must have a Minnesota focus, there is no restriction on the author’s place of residence. There will be separate award categories for books and articles.

Submissions must be received no later than October 15, 2021, although earlier submissions are encouraged. MNSAH will publish a list of all submission in the March 2022 edition of its newsletter and on its webpage:  https://mnsah.org.

A panel of three judges appointed by the MNSAH board will select the award recipients. MNSAH will present the awards at its Annual Meeting in Spring 2022. The award will include an honorarium ($300 for a book; $100 for an article), a one-year membership in MNSAH, and a framed certificate.

The books and articles will be evaluated based on the following criteria:

  • Whether the work advances or deepens a reader’s understanding of the Minnesota built environment.
  • Whether the sources upon which the work is based are documented.
  • Whether the work balances sound scholarship with broad accessibility.
  • Whether the work is adequately and effectively illustrated.

Applicants should send three copies of the nominated work to:

David Stanley Gebhard Award
c/o Greg Gaut
1235 Yale Place #408
Minneapolis, MN 55403

Materials will not be returned. Thank you for your interest

See Past Winners of the Gebhard Award

Comments are closed